Venus Fly Trap

A couple of years ago, I obtained a very cool Venus fly trap. I had no idea what I was doing with it and had never really tried to keep one alive. Surprisingly, it survived for about 2 or 3 years. All I did was replant the fly trap into a tomato container with some sphagnum moss and then tossed it into a glass fish bowl. I added some distilled water once in a while and it thrived. It even bloomed and gave me these beautiful white flowers.

 

It’s interesting how certain plants thrive in certain environments. Sometimes giving your plant a little bit of a cold shoulder can do it some good. I recently bought another Venus fly trap and tried to give it a little bit more TLC. Well, it didn’t turn out so good. It died within two weeks. Granted, my first one lived in a sun room and everything survived in there. It had a good, sunny, happy, nutrient deficient bowl. This recent one had similar surroundings, minus the intense sunlight.

Later, I found out that Miracle Grow Sphagnum Peat Moss is horrible to use if you want to keep a Venus fly trap alive. They hate nutrients and Miracle Grow adds fertilizer to their moss, which I would’ve known if I had looked at the ingredients. I purchased the moss before for a different plant and had it laying around. It was a good idea at the time. Lesson learned. Keep it simple and don’t use Miracle Grow for Venus fly traps. They like the simple life and so do I!

Leave a Reply

