Hello Hot Stuff

Last week, in my attempt to make spicy fermented pickles (say that 3 times real fast), I decided to pick some hot peppers from my garden. What I didn’t know, was these peppers were Serrano peppers and not Jalapenos, as I thought they were. They look very similar.

The last time I cut a jalapeno (store bought), I didn’t wear any gloves because it was very mild. My garden peppers, however, are not! I didn’t wear gloves this time and ended up with an intense burn on my hands that lasted hours. I tried everything from milk to apple cider vinegar. Nothing except ice would do anything.

I finally gave up and decided to drink some nettle tea, which has allergy and pain relieving properties. I drink it for allergy relief. Low and behold, the burning stopped. I don’t know if it was the tea, or just the pepper wearing off, but whatever it was, the burning finally stopped. Maybe the tea worked it’s magic and helped me out.

In the end I learned one very important thing, always wear gloves or protective gear when cutting hot peppers, no matter how mild you think it may be!

 

Leave a comment